the pickles were pretty

I was working in a supermarket deli kitchen. My boss was someone I used to work with in a factory. She could be mean and bossy. I had many task assigned but she didn’t show me or tell me what they were. I was new at the kitchen and the boss wasn’t very helpful.

 
I was supposed to make cold pasta salads. We were supposed use food items in the store that were about to expire. But there was no time left to prepare everything before the store opened. We were supposed to have food items to sell before the store opened in the morning. We had nothing done. We had to hurry to get something done with what we had.  We made ham sandwiches and fresh vegetable with dip.
 
I was showed off my knife skills using a french knife to julienne carrots, pickles, ham and bread. 
Go to fullsize image
Go to fullsize image
 
The boss did something stupid, she put slices of bread inside a sandwich.
Then her idea of making a jar of  pickles sweet, was to put one slice of a sweet pickle on top of regular dill pickles, close the jar and let it sit over night.
Go to fullsize image
 
Then I found sheet pan sized cookie. It looked like leftover cookie dough baked. I tried to make a creation with that.
 
I was new at the kitchen and the boss wasn’t being very helpful, that was my frustration with my boss.  She wasn’t communicating.
One weird thing the pickle slices were pretty and the jar was cobalt blue.
Leave a Reply

dweem tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

