priest got sick, my friend had a baby

I was in church, waiting in for service to start. People were still filing in.

I noticed my best friend from high school was sitting with her husband across the aisle. My friend was holding a newborn baby.  My friends husband was really hefty in size. My friend just had gray hair but looked the same as she always did.

I was thinking that was her baby. I see no young mother near her. She was too old to have a baby. I remember her telling me she couldn’t have no more. But maybe some magic happened.

The service started, when I looked up to the altar. The altar was suddenly dark and the priest was gone.

Someone said the priest became ill.

We were all waiting to see what would happen next. Like another priest would come in and complete the service.

A group of women came in to announce there were bible study groups downstairs if anyone was interested.

I saw my friend carry the baby up to the altar and sit down in the priest’s chair. I think she was expecting the baby to be baptized at this service.

I was still sitting waiting to see what would happen next.

I found some other old classmates from high school, and mentioned to them I was surprised to see my friend at the church. My friends didn’t see the problem. I said, don’t you remember she was Lutheran. Remember at  her wedding her church wouldn’t allow our Catholic friend sing at her wedding. They said maybe she converted.

Then there happened to be another priest who happened to be attending one of the bible study groups.

The candles were relit for service. But one of the candle arrangements was in a weird place, in the middle of the aisle, where people had to walk around it. Which could be dangerous. Especially the priest robe getting too close.

I guess the baby was baptized. I don’t remember the service. Just going down to attend the reception of the baptism. Where the basement had many rooms I had to search them all.

For some reason I did not feel comfortable reaching out to my old high school friend. I felt too many years went by without contact. I thought I would wait for her to reach out to me. I stayed in the background watching my friend and her special moment with her baby.

Leave a Reply

dweem tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

